IPL 2017 Final: Mumbai Indians Defend 129; Win Against Rising Pune Supergiant !

Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant to win IPL 2017, Image Courtesy: Hindustan Times


Mumbai Indians emerged victorious against Rising Pune Supergiant in a last-ball cliffhanger during the Indian Premier League final clash at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on May 21. The match went down to the wire. At the midway stage, very few could have predicted that Mumbai Indians will emerge victorious after they folded for 128. Even Sachin Tendulkar said after the match, “Once a champion, always a champion, Lasith Malinga. Mahela gave a wonderful speech in the mid innings break. We spoke about this in the meeting.  ”

Mahela Jayawardena said,” Happy with the boys, that 20 runs by Krunal made the difference Malinga and Bumrah were phenomenal.”

Steven Smith fought till the end but his 50 was not good enough. Mahendra Singh Dhoni never got going and allowed the pressure to build.

Mumbai Bowler’ss in the Depth Overs

In one of the closest finals during the 10 editions, the trio of Jasprit Bumrah (2/26 in 4 overs), Mitchell Johnson (3/26 in 4 overs) and Lasith Malinga (0/21 in 4 overs) were brilliant at the death defending a lowly total of 129 for eight as Supergiant were restricted to 128 for six at the end.

It was Johnson, who kept his nerve during the final over where 11 runs were needed. Manoj Tiwary smacked the first one to mid-wicket boundary bringing the equation down to 7 from 5 balls. However, the next two deliveries turned out to be disaster with both Tiwary and skipper Steve Smith (51) were caught in the deep.

With four required off the final delivery for victory, Dan Christian went for an impossible third run only to be run out as Mumbai clinched their third IPL title.

Third Time IPL Title Won BY Mumbai Indians

This was Mumbai Indians’ third IPL trophy in 10 editions and more special for their skipper Rohit Sharma, who is the only captain to win a hat-trick of titles. Rohit has in fact won four IPL titles, including the one for Deccan Chargers in 2009.